Poets logo

Purity

An older poem of mine.

By Austin BrownPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Purity
Photo by Brad Newcomb on Unsplash

Something to be proud of amid a catastrophe

Limping along the barbed road, my limbs atrophied,

A solitary segment of accomplishment set away,

Take it out and revel in your victory on a bad day,

It will warm your spirits and protect you from them.

Brains like spiders ripping their way from heads,

Many limbs squirming inside, beasts gone unfed,

Recall what it was that the fortune teller said?

Something about rupture, or a return of the dead?

Our guts have spilled out and wriggle quickly away,

With minds of their own, screaming innard agony,

Just like the human to abuse what keeps it alive,

I was never a man, but a delirious, buzzing hive.

Host to all the evil able to find its way inside,

But I've got my purity and I keep it safe and hidden,

None can touch it, such a thing must be forbidden,

Radiating truths, it tells me that I'm not at fault,

Life has had its way with us, and I'm just an adult.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Austin Brown

College student interested in freelance writing. I write a wide range of things, including short stories, pieces on psychology, and about popular culture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.