Poets logo

Punched In The Face

A free verse poem about mental illness and flashbacks. This is specially about one day when my whole day was ruined because of a flashback.

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Punched In The Face
Photo by Kahfiara Krisna on Unsplash

I jumped out of bed,

saw the rising sun,

and bam!

I got punched in the face.

The bright, light morning

became a dark, gloomy one

in one quick snap;

A frightening flashback

wiped away my energy.

I hopped out

of the steamy, hot shower,

and saw a bloody hand

right in front of me;

I got punched in the face!

I went on a mental rollercoaster

a long, wild, and fast one.

I got off the mental rollercoaster,

and unexpectedly found something unwarranted;

I got punched in the face!

The whole day

went from warm and sunny

to cold, rainy, stormy, foggy, and frosty;

a negative memory

came to nip me in the butt again!

I rested quietly on the bus,

looked out the window

when I saw another bloody hand

in front of me;

I got punched in the face!

By Michael Mouritz on Unsplash

Thank you so much for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you related to this poem, please give it a ❤️, comment, share it with others, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poems, articles, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to stay in touch with me!

IG’s: @tdwrites24 (where you’ll find all of my literary creations) and @taliascreations331 (where you’ll find all of my visual art pieces).

By USGS on Unsplash

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    oh yeah, I feel this all too well

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Sending you hugs ❤️

  • ❤️

Talia DevoraWritten by Talia Devora

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.