Poets logo

Pulse

from Interiora, V.i.t.r.ii.o.l.

By Trick BlanchfieldPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chicago

I'm walking on broken ground. An acrid tincture squeezes blood from my tongue to leave me muted in situ. Waiting to be usurped.

To my body I am Xeno & we are at war.

My skin is a porous tomb & I am heavy with the clinging fog, aching with the strain of bones breaking their better natures not to run from this place.

Some days I can't stand to be so accessible. Voice is an instrument serving the heart’s melody to lovers; it is inexcusable for that melody to be served unkempt and out of time.

Is there a prayer one might whisper to invoke a gentler mind? Some incantation to incite the wake of a slumbering sea whose winds have retreated to their Æolian chamber, having razed the surface of a despondent coast irreparable, leaving an emptiness within a mere reflection of stars that drifts in the echo of inimitable silence –

The pulse I rest in is one of peace attained solely by the obedient absence of the storm complacent in a quiet that is borrowed, not to mention shallow in effect, affecting each tender sinew I claim as my own as the tendrils of memory spiral into antiquity.

Every breath occurs within a reliquary as dispassionate as it is disused, a foreign amphora to be emptied, existing in quadrants, struggling for necessity.

To what compound fracture of self can I attribute these insufficiencies?

My machine is the Xeno that inspires insurrection.

.30.8.16.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Trick Blanchfield

Trick Blanchfield is an Indianapolis author, artist + immaculate shade.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.