Poets logo

Psychological Ramblings

I am not a person of mediocre feeling.

By ghostsandrebelsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

somebody said they liked my hair today.

the snow was falling and i was seeking refuge

in a winter blanket.

all these people seem so put-together,

working with purpose,

strutting with the kind of self-assuredness i can only dream of.

i enjoy becoming invisible

in overwhelming crowds

sometimes i wish the walls would open up and pull me inside

and i don't want to die.

hey, mom! i left my house and i survived! aren't you proud?

somebody with beautiful cerulean eyes looked at me and i

fell in love

faster than i fall asleep.

the moon was gleaming and i was getting high again

to ponder upon the meaning of life.

in this city

i have not a friend to speak of

so i speak to the shadows on my floor instead

and i scribble frantically

the writings of the hermit.

hey, mom! i spoke to a human being and i didn't cry! aren't you proud?

when i was a little girl i dreamt of fame and being loved

by everybody. now that i am grown i only want

to be loved by myself.

the pitter patter of the rain was thumping and i was

waking in a frenzied rush and

trying to gather my wits again.

i dream in bursts of uncontrolled feeling

sometimes they seem so real i could swear i

didn't dream them at all.

i read books i've lived a thousand lives.

hey, everyone! i'm pretending to be like you! aren't i doing a good job?

somebody laughed at a joke i told.

wherever i go i am wandering without a purpose

or a clue

trying to determine whether i fit in or stand out.

nobody really fits in anywhere

but i am comfortable living in solitude.

my six year old told me

he loves me

so i must be doing something right.

i told a joke and everybody laughed.

somebody said they liked my hair today.

the snow was falling and i was a paradox

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

ghostsandrebels

i'm a a queer writer, poet, cat lover, and author. i'm passionate about psychology, human rights, and creating places where lgbt+ youth and young adults feel safe, represented, and supported.

29 | m.

follow me on threads for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.