Poets logo

Promises Promises

Hold Fast

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Promises Promises

1/12/12

Promises made to me from me

Like a present I knew about

Already.

An acknowledge more so,

A recognition of your deeds,

I say to me.

Promises, promises

They say when I

Make them.

But I, shall keep mine,

And I, shall keep mine,

Yet I, shall keep mine.

Promises made to you from me

Aren’t the same as those made from me to me

Though, aren’t they the same?

They both have the same validity

They both came from the same sea

From the ocean of my thought.

The rough waters of this plane

Are warm, with positive emotion.

Though they can be cool with the negative.

Cold inside, though by the fire

A flame harboring the love and care

Of those around me

I finally relinquish and finally let go,

I finally absorb it all and finally, I know,

Promises will be kept.

The promise of love

The promise of care

The promise of hope.

Hope comes to me,

Promised by me to me

I am finally free.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.