Poets logo

Promises

Just Another Sad Poem

By Katrinaisntawkward .Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You looked me in the eyes,

The worst part is when you lied, you looked me in the eyes,

Did you see my eyes dilate? The walls fall and think to yourself "This is a beautiful thing to break"

You looked me in the eyes and said you wanted to marry me,

But why say it if you knew it was something you didn't mean?

I didn't give you any kind of prompting,

But maybe it's because I made you the person you wanted to be,

Someone to people please.

I made you promise not to lead me along,

I didn't want my life to look like a Taylor Swift song,

But no communication on your side,

Led to, well, I don't know how many times you lied.

You only told me that time, because I asked.

Apparently you masked all this misery you'd been feeling,

When dealing with me.

I'm sorry your life is such a tragedy,

But that give you no authority,

To break a promise.

And that is something I will never forget,

When I was little my mom asked me "If a strange man knocked on the door what would you do?"

And I said "Make him promise that he was nice"

That way you knew it was safe, and I remember that to this day,

Because a promise was just something you didn't break,

But when she said "No, honey, you turn away,"

That's the part I should have remembered to this day.

Yeah, promises were a thing you could break.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.