Poets logo

Progenitor

Archaicly New

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Progenitor
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

I cannot explain who I am or what I do.

My presence hails from ancients.

I'm ironically new.

My process takes much patience.

By Aron Visuals on Unsplash

|

For I was of low probability.

Just a mere possibility

Deck stacked against me

Chances so low, success was an sterility

Infertility

Yet, I made it to what I'm now, from hostility

Maybe tough once I've started, but there's still fragility

I need virility

Vigor and Good Sense, gave me ability

Of mobility

So, I moved to newer lands with more tranquility

Drinking, Breathing, from a land, facilitating facility

By Naser Tamimi on Unsplash

|

I was nothing but tenacious

My environment's outrageous

The language I posses

That I express

Is of the first archaics.

Though I may start as one, I morph into mosaic

Art forms from life forms, do you want to hear me say it?

By Андрей Курган on Unsplash

|

You want me to relay it?

When we all show and display it?

Who I am? What I do?

You were me and I was You.

The language that we share

Passing on and making pairs

We're so different, yet the same,

Too many ways I can't explain.

By Joyce McCown on Unsplash

|

The confession

Is expression

We're unraveled and authenticated

No more consolidated

For we originated

With blueprints bundled and capped

Bound together and stacked

Folded over and back

Pair counted, intact

By Sigmund on Unsplash

|

For what we got, is deeper in our bones

From our lot, we grow into different zones

Splitting

and Getting

Multiplying

Committing

Not denying

The bidding

We did as instructed

Kept things in order, for that's how we're conducted

By Harlie Raethel on Unsplash

|

What? Hold on? Do you still barely know?

Okay, fine then. The secret I let go

Is our environments, make our world, yes our homes

Time to get with the plan. I'm talking about our chromosomes

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

|

Yo, hold the phone.

Did you not get the tone?

Those were wrapped and bundled, balled around our own histones

Like a bola to stones

Kept up tight and curled,

DNA's only been expressed when hurled

Opened up

And Untwirled

The protein splits the fork, helicase

Then add polymerase

To follow up the primase

Complimentary Base

Pairing

Is scary

So we gotta be wary

Not to mismatch the bonds, fairing

Us a better chance with our hydrogen bonds

You can't re-zip improper structure, that's something we're not fond

Of, fine now, you want my name of who I am, and what I do?

Well it's about time. You were me, and I was You.

By Sangharsh Lohakare on Unsplash

|

I'm a Zygote

I'm a lifeboat

DNA wrote

Instructions to put us together,

It's the Carbon goat

Whether I've been planned or not

Sewn from wild oats

That's an anecdote

Like an antidote

I stem from the beginning

But I'm not verbose

By Deon Black on Unsplash

|

Two halfs became whole

I was forged in the dark

Not a single speck of light, not a single, little, spark

So I recombined, my journey start

Started out blind

I have no eyes

I felt to move my part

Through a cilia pathway

I had to go, I could not stay

If I grew in the fallopian

It would cause a dystopian

Future for me and the body where I'm livin'

Moved down to the uterus, it's the place I was given

To start being given

An abundance with access to nutrients

Enriched with a supply of blood, I began to grow by the increments

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

|

For I had no lungs, and yet I breathed

I had no mouth, but I still feed

With such limitations, you wanna know how I handled?

Simple, they passed through a variety of channels

Like manholes

That cover a city's streets

Ion Channels

Pumping: water, sugar, 02, treats

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

|

I was blessed, as there was nothing insipid

Brought across my membrane, Bilayer Phospholipid

That's a part, that was the first of mosaics

Now your cells, tissues, organs, systems show different displayments

Of different arrangements

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

|

From 1, 2, 4, 8

Now look in the mirror, 30 trillion, that's pretty great

There's no debate

We're all from actions of that which did create

Beget and Begotten

But not ever forgotten

For if you're reading this, you reached the fertile land, that had not yet rotten

Doubled, multiplied, organelles, yeah we got them

Inches for you, but for me, it was miles of travel

Unloading the histones, Expressing what DNA did unravel

By Braňo on Unsplash

|

Let's continue and move on

Making proteins from codons

Yet, let's leave it to the experts when it comes to quotes

For every human, started as a zygote

By Joel Filipe on Unsplash

____________________________________________________

Author's Notes: I started writing this around March. It's original writing was still of the same content, but it lacked meter, flow, rhythm. I'd read a few sources for help in the creation of this. Please, check them out if you'd like. Information is empowering, especially in not just the right hands, but the right minds.

Histone. National Human Genome Research Institute. https://www.genome.gov/genetics-glossary/histone#:~:text=A%20histone%20is%20a%20protein,chromosome%20a%20more%20compact%20shape.

What is DNA replication? yourgenome. https://www.yourgenome.org/facts/what-is-dna-replication/

Cells Can Replicate Their DNA Precisely. © 2014 Nature Education. https://www.nature.com/scitable/topicpage/cells-can-replicate-their-dna-precisely-6524830/#:~:text=How%20is%20DNA%20replicated%3F,of%20the%20new%20DNA%20segment.

DNA Replication. National Human Genome Research Institute. https://www.genome.gov/genetics-glossary/DNA-Replication#:~:text=Definition&text=DNA%20replication%20is%20the%20process,with%20its%20own%20complete%20genome.

Zygote. © 2001-2022 BiologyOnline. https://www.biologyonline.com/dictionary/zygote

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was epic! This was awesome! I freaking loved it so much. This is my new favorite of all things Vocal!! Science+Poetry=Hell to the YES!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.