Poets logo

Prisms

the colors of me

By Mary RogersPublished 3 years ago β€’ 1 min read
Like
VectorStock.com Photo: 31379024 | Artist: Mungkorn

I am a human kaleidoscope

A myriad of colors

Shapes and forms

Prisms

Prisms, Everywhere

The color of my love

Is red. For blood

For heart. For pulse

For my ancestors

The natives. The savages

Who held sacred

The majestic purple mountains

And planted the fields

Amber waves of grain

The color of my soul

Is yellow. For sunflowers

For daisies and forget-me-nots

For honor. For grace. For Seoul

For Korea. For my ancestors

The immigrant

The history

A war-torn country

Tradition and a way of life

A way of being

Wisdom, dignity, and poise

The color of my almond-shaped eyes

Are brown. Representing rich soil

Growth and roots

For a life of rich exploration

Reflection and excavation

An entire galaxy

Lives inside of me

My body is a full spectrum

Of ink and art and words

Hopes and dreams

And so many disappointments

A body that has known

Profound love. Profound loss

All the hues of blue

Transgressional scars

Mapped in marshmallow pink

Running in lines across my flesh

Tiger stripes

Telling a story of

A life my lover reads in braille

A consecrated text

Full of constellations

That map the journey

Of my heart

The atlas to my soul

Every chapter has been bound

In the lining of my skin

Prefaced and prologued

With the wisdom and stories

Of my ancestors. Shamans

Who revered the ways of old

But how this memoir ends

That alone

Will be my own tale to tell

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mary Rogers

π™·πšŽπš›πš‹πšŠπš•πš’πšœπš | πš†πš›πš’πšπšŽπš› | π™Όπš’πšœπšπš’πšŒ | πš€πšžπšŽπšŽπš—

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.