Poets logo

Prism

Gold

By MavisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Prism
Photo by J Lee on Unsplash

Blue is the part of me that’s also part of you

Coursing through our veins

Connected to the powder sky

You and I, then to the sapphire sea

Shortest wavelength it must be

Calming, peaceful, tranquility

Green is everything in between

Grassy knolls, emerald fields

Embody rich chlorophyll yields

Landscapes would not compare

Without the life this hue shares

Abundance, vital, extraordinaire

Red is the essence of passion deep

Where desire and birthright meet

Conflating into one heartbeat

The need to succeed, fulfill, compose

Evolves into a blooming rose

Vison, divine-given, purpose

But yellow is my bright glow

Radiating outward so I wrote this verse at a tender age

At a time when the world was just my stage

On top of a hill with flowers all around

There a girl stood, fill the world with light

I knew, even then, my calling was to write

But as I grew, it was harder to shine

And I felt the weight of all that was mine

Slowly dimming the internal flame

Which made me question what I became

A need to look within and ignite that spark once again

Word by word the fire returned becoming an inferno

Warmth and goodness; A love that’s pure

I’m proud of my golden lure

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mavis

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.