Poets logo

Printed People

whatever food is in the fridge

By Eve Luxembourg Published 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

I want no more distraction

From the bones of my life

I want no more ambition

Or awareness of the world on the other side

I want homemade coffee

And whatever food is in the fridge

I want to exist slowly

Like a morning glory vine on a stone bridge

I want unexplained solitude

Like the woman in a small-town mystery

I will look for the answers on train tracks

And between the riverbed trees

I want a rainy house

Tin gutters and a garden hose

And you could shut me like a book

When you tire of my prose

Not a single cultural reference

Like timeless art and grocery store books

Keep it true and focused

Like the printed people do

sad poetrynature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eve Luxembourg

Currently taking life far too seriously. I wish I read more than I wrote, yet here we are. I am incredibly cyclical and I like to write down my mind before it shifts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.