Poets logo

Prince Charming?

The prince that never was.

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Prince Charming?
Photo by Philipp Deus on Unsplash

The prince that never was.

I cannot engage with you when you change personalities. You’re not you.

You hurt people’s feelings

I try to remove myself but I can’t.

I worry about you, and what if something happens and I’m not around.

We promised each other we wouldn’t leave each other unless asked by the other.

I'm worried about my mental health.

Your mental health.

Please don’t change on me, you’ve been doing so well.

What happened? Who? Anything?

I can’t tear down my walls, that I worked so hard to rebuild.

Just to help you.

I wouldn’t know how.

You’re calling me a snake, anything you can think of that will hurt me.

I can’t do it anymore.

I’m removing myself from your emotion shackles

I’ve come so far, not one will try to tear me down.

Or try and make me have a set back, like you’ve tried so many times.

Not you.

Not you, especially of anyone.

Nope.

I am me.

I will stand strong against you, stand up to you.

How does it feel?

Scary, right?

Try being in the feet or bodies of the people you hurt.

The anguish and rage.

The emotional trials and tribulations with you.

I can’t anymore.

My emotions for you are gone.

Done.

-ej

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.