Poets logo

Primary

I'm gonna paint this house.

By Jen Parkhill “JP”Published 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I’ve been thinking a lot about color.

missing it

in the bleakness

of some of these recent days.

I’ve been thinking about painting the house of my life.

primary colors.

I’m talking about the color of love.

the color of honesty,

accountability,

vulnerability,

restitution,

healing.

I want to paint with those.

painting with the color laughter.

letting it leave those streaks

of beaming gold

and yellow

across a beloved’s face.

painting with sunsets,

and trees,

and tears and snot

of conversations long overdue

and apologies I didn’t yet have the grit to make.

painting with moonlight,

and embraces,

and hot cups of tea

and forgiveness and hope.

painting with the child’s smile.

painting with taste.

painting with sweat.

painting with breath.

primary; “of chief importance.”

primal; “essential, fundamental.”

I want to paint with those.

paint; “a colored substance

which is spread over a surface

and dries

to leave

a thin decorative or protective coating.”

I’d like to paint this house.

I think I’ll paint this house.

I’ll paint it with you.

you can paint it with me.

I’ll set a brush aside.

take your time.

we’ll get it right.

and if not, we’ll paint it again.

new shades.

new days.

by and by we’ll fill these cracks.

I’m gonna paint this house.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Jen Parkhill “JP”

Jen Parkhill “JP”, a first generation Cuban-American artist and proud member of the LGBTQIA+ community. Cat dad, writer, filmmaker, actor, friend, and graduate of the Tisch School of the Arts, NYU.

Hurling through time.

@jenparkhill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.