Poets logo

Pretty Birds

Birds Outside My Window #VocalNPM

By Cheryl ChastainPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
By Cheryl Chastain 

Flutter by the window pane

Yours and mine again and

Again

Red one, brown one, blue little flutterbys

Twitter chirping wake 'em up lullabies

They start the day with a song in the sunshine

Still they sit quietly even in the rainy time

Feather flops flitter by and catch my eye from the side

Often inspire me to daydream and wish a little bit

That I could be as free as the little twirly birds that outside my window sits

Sometimes hopping bopping or gliding by

Seeing more of the world than I

Much more than I will ever know yet often confused by a southern snow

These tiny carefree musical clowns with their lively and sometimes annoying sounds

Beautiful creatures on spindly little legs

All hatching in the morning’s glory from itty bitty tiny eggs

I am in awe of these flying treasures

my only hope is to one day return the favor

nature poetry

About the Creator

Cheryl Chastain

I’m just a woman who writes by day and paints by night to cope with this thing called life.

Twitter @ CherylRChastain

Check out my ig @chereneechastain

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cheryl ChastainWritten by Cheryl Chastain

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.