Poets logo

Pretending to be a Woman

poem

By Khalida ParveenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Pretending to be a Woman
Photo by Bekah Russom on Unsplash

PRETENDING TO BE A WOMEN

My body grew faster than I did

And you think I am now a women

No

I had to grow into My body

Had to grow into the curves that arrived too early

I filled the extra space with masked confidence and fake intellect

so that I maybe fit to be called a "women"

The rest of me struggles

To met the approving nods

God forbid they approch and start a conversation

My studder ,

My lack of sophisticated words

Would have them looking down at me in less than a second

So I try my best 

Not to acquaint myself

My phisque reached its pick

Before I could reach my mid-point

They look at me with satisfaction in their eyes

I must no longer look like a girl

Cause they didn't use to look at me like that

Back when I was Dancing in mud puddles

And playing silly games

Back when I didnt wear heals

That made me wish I had no legs

Back when I didn't feel the need

To fake laugh at pointless jokes

Back when norms were something I could break without consequences

Back when I could avoid stressful talks

Cause I was told I wasn't old enough

Back when I could sleep

The minute my head meets my pillow

They didn't look at me like that

But now

Now that I can entertain

The old men with full pockets

That scavage through the room

Like it's a super market

And leave with the one they want

Or two if they desired

I am considered

.......valuable

So I

Put on a dress they tell me a women wears

Feeling uncomfortable

Showing more skin than cloth

I find a sit far back

Hoping no one sees me go

I Practise the few lines I learned

Sweet and slow

The way they told me I should

I shiver

Wanting to go back to my bed

And hide beneath the covers I used to know

Before they find out I'm putting on a show

Before the temprature drops as their eyes turn cold

I shiver

Paranoid

Looking around to see

if anyone has noticed

that I was just a girl

pretending to be a women

~

@

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.