Poets logo

Predisposed Prison

By H on the Hill

By Hector Prat Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Does a prison have two wardens? Mine Does? They go by Mom and Pop. I've been assigned to Building 46 O Positive Block.

Does The Court of Nature have two Judges? Mine Does? They go by Mom and Pop. Mom's sentence is a life time of complacency and indomitable self-agency. Dad's sentence rage and unbridled flagrancy.

Where is the Warden? My Cell Block is full. Two man cells filled with four. One Cell there Rage, Anger, Lust, Focus. Next Cell Laziness, Procrastination, Fear, Deception. All I do is fight in here. Heading to Solitary Confinement. Will I get 30,60 or 90 days?

I look out my 6 x 12 window. There is the low security prison. I hear they have nice programs too. Two men to a cell too. I know some inmates their too. You got Compassion, and Honest. You got Courage and Sacrifice. You know that prison got two wardens too? They go by Abuelo and Sis.

Been in this prison for a long time. I promise after this stint in the hole I 'll be on the straight and narrow.

... Its been a struggle, but I m slowly becoming a model prisoner. You know I got parole hearing coming up. I hope I don't stay with this life sentence. They might receive a victim impact letter from My DNA. Sigh... Who knows what it might say.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.