Poets logo

Predetermination in Putian

Parable Of A Fool

By kpPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I am the fool

That ran to the saturated greens

Of the Jiulian Mountain.

Meditated in the mist,

Sang in the temple,

At night, grew silent.

Towards most, I was silent,

But still, with my practice, was a fool.

Reverent love was called for by the temple,

But I gave mine to her brown eyes that hid soft greens,

Saying "we were meant to meet," and when our affections were shrouded by the mist,

I didn’t care about the mountain.

My home was the mountain

For thirty days, five of them silent.

Within that time, the trees let their mist

Enter the mind of this fool.

Her former lover gave me greens.

It disrupted my dhyāna, distracting me with jealous thoughts in that temple.

She stood behind me in the temple,

So I knew that first day on the mountain

That she looked best in burgundy and tea greens:

Phthalo, carmine, and rosewood. Though, I stayed silent

About my feelings. I acted like a fool.

Still penetrating my thoughts was the mist.

Obscuring the path to meals was mist,

So, to eat at the grounds of the temple,

Daily I had to descend –– this fool ––

While seeing so little, the mountain.

But she walked with me. Always. Sometimes silent.

Constant as the Fujian flora’s greens.

Her interest became apparent, and I felt jealousy of her former lover fading, those greens.

As certain as the mist.

Days of note-passing turned to silent

Declarations of fancy, as we star-gazed on the roof of the temple.

My confidante was the mountain

As I finished my errand of the fool.

The greens I encounter throughout my life will always return me to the temple

Where I first met her gaze, and the mist I left on that mountain

Has ensured that I will never again be the silent fool.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

kp

I am a non-binary, trans-masc writer. I work to dismantle internalized structures of oppression, such as the gender binary, class, and race. My writing is personal but anecdotally points to a larger political picture of systemic injustice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.