Poets logo

Precious Moments

Transformed

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
72

Gentle essences, your baby skin,

first gurgles of your breath,

your tiny fingers in my hand

the moment I kissed your head.

*

The earth stood still and I weeped,

my heart transformed, proud man.

Uncommon, rare, never before,

your life, I held in my hands.

*

Your heroic cry’s demanded care,

you crawled, toddled, then walked.

Ga ga speeches and sippy cups,

misunderstood, until you talked.

*

Mama, Dada, you called our names,

a victorious celebration.

Uncommon and rare, never before,

your singular voice awakened.

*

Your beating heart and unique mind

joined with the human race.

In school, in sport, with friendships made,

you excelled and found your place.

*

Shattering news, our life…interrupted!

Precious moments…disrupted!

Emotions…corrupted!

E-vis-cer-at-ed!

*

My rising star, your gone to soon

you’ve taken your last breath.

Your lifeless fingers were in my hands,

one last time, I kissed your head.

*

The earth stood still and I weeped,

my heart transformed, and broken.

Uncommon, rare, our moments together,

Sweet precious times, gone forever.

💔💔💔

I’ve searched high and low for the most uncommon elements in this world. I’ve researched to discover the rarest of things to share and contemplate. I have found it.

There is nothing rarer than the unique life of each and every individual born into this world. Even more rare is the transformation that occurs when it is your own child. Your dna, their skin, scent, and laugh. Your influence, their mind. Your nurturing, their life.

When I first held my son, minutes after he came into this world, I felt a physical cosmic switch flip at the center of my existence. The world appeared different as if my eyes were reborn and my vision transformed. Herculean strength blossomed in my chest and for the first time I understood unconditional love. Love that meant you’d, without forethought, sacrifice your life for theirs.

A new life with a unique voice and spirit, never to be duplicated, is the most uncommon thing in the world. From this precious moments are generated and our lives transformed.

Life is short. Transformations come. We do not know what tomorrow will bring so I plead with you, do not take it for granted. Collect every precious moment you can, because the rarest thing on earth, more precious than gold, is the unique life right in front of you.

social commentaryheartbreak
72

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    💔 Hampton seemed like quite a guy. Of course he was, he was your son. 💔

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    My heart is breaking. So beautiful. 💕 I'm sorry I missed it when it was a top story!

  • Quiet storm about a year ago

    Beautiful write

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This poem is powerful.

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a year ago

    This is one of the most powerful poems I have ever read. Thank you for the reminder that the lives of those right in front of us are so rare and beautiful <3

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Scott, this is so emotional and it highlights the biggest mystery of our existence: life and death. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Lakshmi Narashimanabout a year ago

    Nice one. I am new here. Can you please go through my articles and let me know if you like them? https://vocal.media/motivation/book-review-steve-jobs https://vocal.media/motivation/book-review-think-and-grow-rich https://vocal.media/motivation/book-review-the-compound-effect https://vocal.media/horror/strange-land-part-1

  • I felt the pain and emotions in your poem. Very raw and heartbreaking. Human life is very fragile and the best we can do is not to take anyone for granted

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Gorgeous 🥰

  • LynPabout a year ago

    Scott, you made my day. I am a new empty nester. I enjoyed your piece so true raw, so real. You touched the bottom of my soul. Thank you. Have an awesome day.

  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Truly made me emotional. Such a raw and amazing way of writing. Position is well deserved.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the well deserved Top story.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    A very real and beautiful connection of father and child, and a poignant and loving way to represent this. I really appreciate this!! Well done on this very important top story

  • Dharuabout a year ago

    Congrats on Top story ❣️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Scott! This is so well-deserved!! ❤️ :)

  • Testabout a year ago

    Very moving, it touched a spot where I hold so much love for my children that is so rare indeed. Thank you for sharing and bless you

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Well deserved Top Story. This is beautiful, sad, so sad but also beauiful. Sorry for your loss. And, yes, I think all parents get this and relate! Well done. Just...yes.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    This is soooo beautiful!

  • Austin Barakaabout a year ago

    Wow, i mean,,spoken like a true life giver

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    You expressed yourself so amazing!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story, wonderfully poignant words

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This is incredibly moving Scott. Thank you for sharing it ❤️❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Excellent work! Very touching piece! Sorry 4 your loss Scott.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Incredibly moving and emotional. Thank you for sharing this difficult part of your life.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Reading your poem moved me, Scott. The loss is unimaginable, but the love remains. Thank you for the encouraging reminder to never waste a minute. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.