Poets logo

Pray

Lost in my mind

By Tressa RosePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Pray
Photo by Juan Davila on Unsplash

Why is it that during the hardest times

Is when I forget to pray the most?

Instead I seek refuge in my anxieties

And misconceptions of reality.

~

Unfurling all the complexities

I've compartmentalized in my mind.

Treading more carefully in some areas than others,

Careful not to step on the cracks.

*Audible Shatter*

Oops.

Maybe not always so careful.

~

There goes my sanity yet again,

Flying off, and far out of my reach.

Trying not to let this void consume what's left of me.

The lack of illumination is beginning to unsettle me,

Bracing for the impact of what is destined to come.

~

Cherishing the moments I find warmth

From that little spark of hope that still resides.

Searching for the peace to reconcile with my past

Instead of continuing to resentfully juggle my demons.

~

Fighting every day to choose love over pain

Because life is charging me by the moment.

~

sad poetryheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    This is great, love it.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    OMG I loved the stepping on the cracks part particularly! Kept me on my toes! 😁 Agree regarding the first verse, that sometimes the ‘old familiar’ feels safe, but we gotta branch out and learn to hope again. Excellent, heartfelt writing Tressa!

  • Deep, beautiful, meaningful, insightful. Thank you for sharing this wonderful work with us!

  • Test7 months ago

    I love the way you've captured the feeling of being lost and overwhelmed in your poem. The imagery of the shattered sanity and the void is very powerful.

  • This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Whoa!!! you really do have a talent for weaving words. Another great sentiment, well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.