Poets logo

Power Outage

Storms

By Anupallavi SinhaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Power Outage
Photo by Florian Olivo on Unsplash

There is no light. No electricity. Time is moving extremely slowly. No traffic lights, no cars, no people in sight. Yet, there must still be life, right? Wrong. This storm may have destroyed everything that I love. Everything that I have prayed for, that I have waited for, for an eternity and more. Lost. Reckless tornado. You have put out the flame that keeps my heart warm at night. No blanket of comfort can be thrown over me now. How am I ever to start my own fire? When you rain on even the tiniest of sparks that I manage to put forth? What good is shelter in your center if I do not feel safe? My mind is clouded. Your storm is persistent. I am shivering, I am exhausted. And now I have no choice but to kneel to the ground, as the trees bend in your fury. I surrender. But, I’ll have you know that there are no rainbows, no golden or pink skies that you can present to me, that may justify the loss you have caused me. You say it’s temporary, you say a new source of electricity will be installed soon, it’s just a power outage. But when will you realize that it is so much more than that?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Anupallavi Sinha

Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brian Life2 years ago

    Don’t make me cry now. Really you did. I feel you in this storm. It’s truly not necessary for us to feel such pain, or is it…to awaken our inner Sun! Shine! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.