Poets logo

Power of the Mind

Close your eyes and let me take you

By LilyRosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Power of the Mind
Photo by Clément M. on Unsplash

In the day I trundle on

on the well trod path of men,

Yet in the night I come alive

and I am born again,

I close my eyes and instantly

this world just slips away,

And in its place is another land

and a different sort of day,

It's a miracle of the mind,

A gift we writer's share,

And when we touch our pen to pad

we can take you there.

The tales that we tell you

are like memories that we've made,

And are just as real to us

as those of yesterday,

So close your eyes and let us take you

to the furthest stretches of our mind,

Where love and hope and dangerous thrill

are not so hard to find.

For every tale we can share

is another mind set free,

From the daily woes and drudgery,

That haunt both you and me.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

LilyRose

Corporate cog by day, poet by night. Writing is my happy place. Comments, follows and critiques are always welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shadow James2 years ago

    I loved it! Great poem.

  • Beautiful poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.