Poets logo

#postcovid- Share your hurts, it's our world now.

Social advocacy in your home, your Zooms and your local community

By 🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺Published 3 years ago • 3 min read
Like
My mum cooking. Our mothers are the first heroes and nurturers of this world.

This is my prayer on a plate:

Remember,

Our ancestors foraged for food

Who walked on this land,

With the land, our tribe and our Creator

Food to live.

But we forgot.

Remember now,

Live for food?

Our banks crank with gold

Many live with mere bread.

Many live to gain life

Gain food and gain a stomach

But we leave still empty

Temporary longing and emptiness

We forgot.

Some advocating for peace with food

Save the food

Share the food

Eat the food well from our Earth.

We forgot.

Prayer to our fellow beings

Let’s eat, talk and share together

We can listen

We can be reconciled

We can be whole again.

^ This was written to our youth-led magazine in my local community last year (2020) #grassrootsadvocacy #youthcampaign #thenextgen

Baking at home - bread is an analogy of the process of life - time, waiting, giving and healing.

My reflections below:

I hope lockdown has made us reflect and review our mission statements and values #timecapsule21stcentury

How do we value life?

This is what we’ve been taught ever since industrial revolution has rapidly progressed.

We made it so far --in civilisation.

We proved we can work hard, earn fast, buy assets and consume.

And look now - highly unlikely we can go back to this reality that we have been depending on survival for.

Perhaps, this is an opportunity to drop our facade ~

Survival - yes to pay the bills and simply be ~

Really question - do we have enough? Roof and food to live day to day?

Enough? Because I am looking at the people in my neighbourhood and i know i have so much.

I know the answer is right in front of me.

-

Okay so yes we may be less inclined to share.

Let’s think about it differently, if we team up, share or chip in like clusters - there will be less of a hoarding attitude and mother nature would smile at us.

This is small actions/local community grassroots i’m talking about.

Broadly speaking, if our government can think this way - that would be the ideal dream right?

Yes, it's still nation against nation.

I would be lying if I said I do not doubt, or fear or have worries.

At least I am comforted that some, if not many are now sharing this in the media -

The deep, inner, psychological psyche, deepest and darkest fears of feeling uncertain… is now being exposed. We are all in the same boat - unfortunately some in need more than others.

To describe this using a biblical analogy, we are all like prodigal sons having an opportunity to come back and re-turn to the essence of who we are, who we serve and what ought we do - in times like this, the universe is calling us to mourn, lament, repent and rejoice of what we have:

~our breath, life, a place to live, think and be.

These lockdown restrictions is starting to hit in - hang in there.

All I have is my self, my family, my personal relationship with the universe, my ancestors and mother Earth. How about you?

Do you feel that our Earth is hurting right now? I also wonder if my dog knows what is going on? (all he knows that now during this time, he can feed on our leftover UberEats meals!)

Akin to burning the landscape for it to regenerate, I hope and pray for peoples hearts to also pray for us and for the angels to gradually witness that this can work in our favour - for the voices that's been buried underneath to be risen to the top of the water.

Here we are as everyday heroes in humanity - making change in our homes and families ~

and hey, that's good enough.

#somedayovertherainbow

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺

I'm here for those who are looking for something more.

#LESSjunkmoreJUJU

~Currently documenting my post-lockdown life:

Part time Mental Health Worker / Part time Artist.

Let's make meaning together Millennials ✌🏽

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.