Poets logo

Possible Realities

What will be ours?

By Colleen Millsteed Published 6 months ago 2 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I hold secret dreams of different realities,

Outcomes that grow with possibilities unknown,

Pathways that diverge into future dreams,

Static invisibility too far advanced but the seeds are sown.

**

Divergence with a left turn amongst the choices,

Infinitely wild on a pathway towards passion,

Love romantically calloused enough to thrive in unison,

Coupling the past with the future in an orderly fashion.

**

A single kiss that’ll cause a heart to implode,

Beating a drumbeat of catatonic reason,

Overflowing with a tempest of emotion erupting,

Rolling through the stages of grief’s horrid season.

**

Seldom are second chances obtained through the past,

But haphazardly two hearts continue to pine through the years,

Trialling a separation as dishonest as our history,

Filled to the brim with tears shed and unfathomable fears.

**

A child sacrificed not once but twice,

Bound by a tortured web of lies,

A term of obedience withheld to the very end,

Not allowed a voice to utter its honest cries.

**

A day is nearing when we’ll face the truth of our nature,

One glance into each others eyes will set the storm raging,

Tears will freely flow for the years we’ve lost,

For the dreams I lived with love no longer engaging.

**

A tingle of anticipation winds up my spine,

A buzz of electricity ignites within my mind’s sight,

A question is raised, one that will be answered in the sands of time,

Will we find the realm of possibilities are ours to write?

**

I have hopes and dreams for the years to come,

But will they include us or only the memory of what we once held?

I put this cognitive reasoning into the powers that be,

Letting my future destiny be all that is upheld.

**

I’ll trust in the process,

Knowing there’s no point in putting up a fight,

What will be will be,

And that’ll show us both what is destined to be right.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Stream of Consciousness

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear Colleen ~ With this 'Piece' I pray for 'World Peace' ~ Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    This is amazing. Well crafted. Loved your poem❤

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Time will tell. Another good piece, Colleen.

  • Yes, we'll just go with the flow. It's just too exhausting at times. Loved your poem my friend!

  • "Que sera, sera." (Yeah, we watched Doris Day faithfully as kids.)

  • Atomic Historian6 months ago

    Ummmm. Could you not read my private thoughts out loud, please. I love it

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.