Poets logo

Portland, Maine

Sitting outside the Metropolitan building

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Portland, Maine
Photo by Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

Portland, Maine

Sitting outside the Metropolitan building.

Sitting here taking my medication.

Listening to my hippy Mod Sun.

“ all I need in this life of sin, is weed and my oxygen”.

It’s almost 60 degrees outside today.

See, March Equinox today. ( I wrote this yesterday )

The start of a new astrological new year.

Sitting here in a tee.

I watch my city,

I know my city

Gloria hasn’t been by in almost two days now.

Sometimes when I feel alone, I just come outside.

People watching.

I could do it all day

I finish my joint and keep rolling.

Damn, it’s bright today.

My eyes hurt.

Gotta stop and put my oxygen on.

Taking in my city to the beat, taking in the sun.

Nothing’s happening today in my city for the weather.

I expected more from my city.

I enjoy my city, it’s my home now.

I see your mom falling behind, falling into the weather.

You rush your mom.

Take a lesson, this town has us. This town is sexy, this town has secrets.

Two dogs just passed by me, and my attention.

Gone.

Where is it?

I smoke to find peace and stay focused on me.

Stay focused on my city.

-ej

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.