Poets logo

Political Free?

Haiku I Could Do This...

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 1 min read
19
Political Free?
Photo by Heather Mount on Unsplash

They think they have you.

Apathy is so tempting...

Time to hit them back.

He knew...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Request Feedbacksocial commentaryinspirationalHaikuFirst Draftfact or fiction
19

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Nicely done, Kendall.

  • Aaliyah Madison4 months ago

    You are the best Kendall

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    The most apathetic thing I've seen is people choosing not to vote. The best non-apethetic thing I've seen is people winning votes even though they're not on the roster. I remember years ago when "Deez Nuts" and "Harambe" were literally winning in the polls, amassing a following. One of my friends got kicked out if class for asking our professor about his opinions on those candidates. The professor kicked him out of the class and my friend returned propmeptly from the library with news articles printed out. The professor apologized to my friend in front of his class for not taking him seriously. There was an actual website page for the political candidate "Deez Nuts" about the policies that were going to be championed. That being typed, when nobody cares is when everything still goes negatively for everybody. The phrase "if nobody's happy then it's a good deal" is such a scam phrase cause that means that the nobody's needs are being met (maybe except for the dealer).

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    What we gonna do. In my younger days of work we went on strikes, laid in the streets stopping traffic, almost getting arrested. We marched and raged and yet here we are, as apathetic as ever. Does anything ever change. I sure hope it will.

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    So much said in so few words! Apathy is tempting indeed, and I’m as guilty of it as anyone. A call to arms of sorts 👏

  • Plato described the tyranny of man with the quote you used perfectly, as the Greeks, the founders of Democracy, had made it aware and worked, long ago, the People are the Power, NOT the Ruling Faction.

  • J4 months ago

    YUP.

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Power punch!

  • Yayyyyy let's hit them back!! Hehehehehe

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    ❤️Bam! Done! 🥋my gi and black belt are in the drawer.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    I loved how you added Plato's quote too. Political satirists used to paint politicians as robots-ie Stephen Harper and Mitt Romney

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Well, that was profound and relevant. Well done!

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    Apathy is getting tempting. Well said.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.