Poets logo

Poisonous River

Drown Me

By Ecarg NosivePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Insecurities rush to my head

as I sip this wine,

luscious blood red

In my veins it crashes into

the thread

of anxieties

That will ultimately lead me

To my death

It flows along like a rapid river

the waters are strong

but so is my liver

It's been down this path

so many times before

Erosion no longer runs its course

The taste a bit bitter

Same as my negative thoughts

They come time and time

again

Until the worries are calmed

It masks what is really going on,

but these sips never could feel

wrong

I'm accustomed to the way

it moves

through my body

I'm consumed

Each drop gets me closer

to my muse

It's drunken me

Binge drinking like a foolish ghoul

I won't stop because someone says

so

I won't stop because someone says

no

Once there's a life in me

I'll pause the sea

but the Damn's only hold out

so long you see

It's become a part of me

a coping mechanism

I hold closer than family

to be fair

They're part of the reason

there is no absentee

In this river's apathy

But quite honestly

I'd go down this path

eventually

It was inevitable

for it's so inviting

Maybe I take it too far,

but it's one of the few things

that excite me

So I'll live each day under the stars

alongside my poisonous river

That leads into my daddy's arms

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.