Poets logo

POISON

A poem addressing one poisoning oneself with expectations unmet.

By Jayne McClurePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Poison

After thirty years of your acquaintanceship

That I mistook for friendship,

I now release the poison of my thoughts and expectations

I expected reciprocity in friendship

I didn’t expect you to side with those whom had, their strategies

And the game you played that resounded back on you

But since you were void of emotional investments

You just took your loss in your stride

So, I now release the poison of my thoughts and expectations.

It no longer matters, that you thought me guilty of a crime

It no longer matters that you’ll never understand my innocence

It no longer matters that you used your words just to placate

When I have confronted you

And now, your silence says it all.

I was just another notch to your score

So, you are now just another notch to my score

I no longer judge or care

But, I will forgive without forgetting

And I now release the poison of my thoughts and expectations

And treat you with the same lack of effort or care

As that you treat me with

I think perhaps,

I was just addicted to the admiration of my concept,

Of you.

Now my feet dug in reality

Neither a pessimist, nor an optimist,

But someone just drinking her glass in-between

Releasing the poison of my thoughts and expectations.


surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.