Poets logo

Point Blank

Free Verse Poem

By Steve MurphyPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
3
"All poetic inspiration is but dream interpretation." -- Hans Sachs

I saw the gun

a pistol in his hand thrust

into my gut I

never heard the explosion

I was

dreaming

working my way carefully

through a darkened

dingy rusty corrugated tin

warehouse in some unnamed street in

some city of the night

that's all I

remember it was

years ago I

don't remember where I

awoke from this nightmare the actual

physical location of the

bed just the

knowing that

the gunshot was fatal

which raises all sorts of

questions like if

you die in your dream do you

really die? Apparently

I don't but then I

ponder the famous koan of Chung Tzu

who upon waking from his dream queried am I

Chung Tzu dreaming I am

a butterfly or am I a butterfly dreaming I am

Chung Tzu or am I Chung Tzu dreaming

I am a butterfly dreaming

I am Chung Tzu on and on

to Infinity

Einstein said it's all relative depending on one's

perspective but could I possibly be

a man who dreamed he died and

now only dreams he's

alive?

Someone equally quotable

maybe Jung said that

everyone in your dream is

you. I could

surf the 'net but

I want to get this down because

it came to me now in my

afternoon meditation

the feeling is like

dreaming & wanting to

finish before waking, yes? Don't

they say dreams only

last a very short time

a minute or two? They

seem to go on forever but

wait

I think that hypothesis has

been disproved.

The dream is hazy

bathed in the

half-light of

memory

but not the intense

foreboding just before

I step through

that

door.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Steve Murphy

He/Him. A writer & actor living in the Arizona desert. Born in Idaho, have also lived in California, Maui, & Seattle. Married to a creative art quilter and blessed with the companionship of an Airedale Terrier.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Fantastic writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.