Poets logo

Poetry of a Young Adult

A Poem

By MooseppePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by Vanze

Sunday Mourning

There once was a riot

So brave they even tried it

A protest becomes a brawl

They were bound to fall

The commotion caused confusion

It could have been an illusion

But it wasn't

Mothers mourned their lost sons and daughters

Just as much agony is felt by the fathers

Brothers and sisters express their heartbreak

A true emotion one can't fake

There once was a riot

So brave they ever tried it

______________________________

This Week and the Next

Today I am cooped up

Tomorrow I will be confined

The next day I will be enveloped

The day after that I will be consumed

One day I will be free

I'll be anything I want to be

One day I will fight back

I assure you that's a fact

One day I won't be consumed

I'll be revived

______________________________

A Future Perspective

Some see a bleak future

A horrid place and time

They see a gloomy world

Living with somber hearts

Some see a joyous future

A glorious time and place

They see a cheerful world

Living with peaceful hearts

Some see a future

A time and place

They see a world

Living with their hearts

______________________________

Strolling

They were disoriented; hidden in an invisible place.

He held her small hand as it shook.

She had strayed from the path, he thought back.

They disappeared in the trees.

The light was nearly gone now; they wandered aimlessly.

They found themselves in the sights of an imp.

It scampered close, he grabbed her hand.

The two barrel away; the imp followed suit.

There was a snap and the two young ones spill down an incline.

Near the bottom they see a small hiding place; they scurry into it.

The sound of crunching twigs getting closer brings back their situation.

He holds her close, trying to keep her quiet.

The crunching is louder; there's no where to run anymore.

They are captives.

______________________________

This is only the beginning.

There is more to come.

Enjoy the wait.

It'll be fun.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Mooseppe

I've got a lot of interests. But I've got good news and good news. You'll never get anything less than strange and nothing more than I can do during my disappointingly short window of inspiration. Have fun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.