Poets logo

Poetry + Journaling + Scissors = Happiness

A collection of poems, quotes, and drawings.

By Katlyn CampbellPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Top Story - June 2021
30

Some people search their whole lives for the meaning of happiness. We ask questions like:

• What makes you happy?

• How to find the true meaning of happiness?

• What is the key to happiness?

• Can money buy happiness?

• What does it mean to be happy?

We search our whole lives to understand what happiness is and how to achieve it. We look to others to help explain it, read books about it, listen to podcasts, ask our grandparents. We all have our own definition of what happiness is and what makes us happy. For me, being creative, writing poetry, art, and journaling is a hobby of mine that brings me happiness. To start with a blank page and create something from nothing. However, while there is no one formula that can create happiness, I have found mine:

• Poetry + Journaling + Scissors = Happiness

What’s yours?

Poetry is my form of self-expression and storytelling, journaling is using my creativity and love for art, and scissors, which allow me to bring my imagination to life. In my journal, after I write a poem, I create a scrapbook page to match. I like to call this journal, meticulous scrapbooking, as all of what you see starts with a piece of paper. I will cut a page entirely out of paper or use a drawing or painting and then add embellishments or cut paper to make a frame for it.

“Gotta write it down…” That is what’s written on the spine of my journal, with a collection of words on the cover: quotes, aspirations, struggles, ideas, fears, thoughts, opinions, goals, hopes, and desires. That’s what a journal should be and more. It can become anything, and I’ve decided to share mine. There’s some degree of vulnerability in sharing something so personal but according to Brené Brown, “vulnerability is uncertainty, risk, and emotional exposure.” This is a risk I take and through this journal, I share one of my most prized possessions; one that is laced with memories, feelings, emotions, and ideas.

I first started this journal in 2013 as a quote journal, but over the years it has evolved into something more than I ever thought. I began writing quotes on paper to cutting, gluing, painting, and drawing. This quote/poetry/travel journal has turned into the ultimate scrapbooking adventure filled with pencils, pens, sharpies, crayons, colored pencils, watercolor paints, and stickers. I realized that I had a knack for writing poetry, and so I turned my memories into rhymes. Whether it be a lesson I’ve learned, a cherished memory, advice, or people I know they have all be come poems. Some make me smile while others make me cry, but all are a part of me and 100% true. I have chosen 14 pages and 14 poems from my journal to share with you. To share a piece of my happiness and show what I can do thanks to a pair of scissors.

Table of Contents

1. About Me

2. Scissors

3. Dandelions

4. Autumn Leaves

5. Socks

6. Something New

7. My Graduation Cap

8. I Left my Heart in Ireland

9. Friends

10. October 25th

11. To My Family

12. Arizona Road Trip

13. My Boots

14. Berlin

1. About Me

My Journal

I created a journal that is unique and will make you go oooo!

Because from beginning to end it rhymes the whole way through.

So here is my story without further ado!

-

Many quotes and drawings I did accrue.

They are memories of mine, a keepsake I hold true.

And when you’ve reached the end, you’ll say “hey, that’s new!”

Because here’s what I can do with scrapbook paper, scissors, and glue.

And now I wanted to share them all with you.

-

I realized I had a knack for writing poetry and making things rhyme.

And my poems are stories that let me step back in time.

To remember the people, places, and things I’ve done.

The lessons I’ve learned and times that were fun!

-

So come one, come all, come everyone.

Maybe read a rhyme, or two, or a ton.

And here is my journal, the rhyming has just begun!

2. Scissors

Self Portrait: "Never create based upon what you think others might like. Create because you like it."

Snip, snip is what they can do.

Curl, cut, slice is another clue.

Whatever your hobby, a pair of scissors is for you.

-

For quilting, card-making, or maybe crochet.

Or to wrap presents for Christmas morning or a birthday.

Even to settle a feud, one might say:

“Rock, paper, scissors”- now that’s a fun game to play.

-

Is organizing, decorating, or parties your go-to?

Or planning a special day with something borrowed, something blue?

How about jewelry making with beads, gems, and pearls too?

From crafting with kids to making something new.

Snowflakes and valentines that read “I love you”.

Even scrapbooking and journaling with stickers & glue.

Sitting with yarn and needles saying, “knit one, purl two”.

Just get a pair of scissors and good times will ensue.

Sewing, DIY, and gardening too.

The ideas are plentiful, and there’s more than a few.

-

So, grab a pair of scissors and go create.

No matter your age, it’s never too late.

Because to be creative is a wonderful trait.

Whether it be modern and simple or wonderfully ornate.

Just make what you feel, and it’ll be terrific and great!

3. Dandelions

Cut entirely from glitter and scrapbook paper

Take a dandelion and close your eyes.

Make a wish for a dream to come true or maybe be wise.

To stay strong through the lows and highs.

And watch it fly like beautiful butterflies.

Far away and up to the skies.

And by following my heart I have come to realize,

To not give up you might be in for a pleasant surprise.

Even if it takes maybe two, three, or four tries.

4. Autumn Leaves

Watercolor tree with leaves and grass cut from glitter paper

I will never forget autumn leaves in Oak Creek.

The trees of red, orange, and yellow stood tall like a peak.

Looking out the windows I was in awe and could barely speak.

And when the snowflakes fell upon my cheek.

This moment was perfect and made my knees weak.

This day in November was unforgettable and forever unique.

5. Socks

Cut from various colors of scrapbook paper.

During the day I do proudly walk.

Because in my shoes are funny colored socks.

If I wear black, grey, or white I do balk.

I’d much rather have zigzags, stripes, or pink and purple spots.

Or curls and spirals with yellow polka dots.

Even ones that look like a spotted ocelot.

-

I don’t mind I wear them all, cause I like socks, not a little but a lot.

And my dresser drawer has plenty in stock.

6. Something New

Drawn with pencil & watercolor pencils, and cut raindrops and umbrella from glitter paper

Yes, good times and bad they will happen that’s true.

But sometimes miracles can happen out of the blue.

Like a call from a friend or an “I love you”.

And if life is grim and glum change your point of view.

But if things don’t work out, here is something you must do:

Let it go, smile, and try something new.

7. My Graduation Cap

Decorating my graduation cap and the flags are cut from glitter scrapbook paper.

During college I studied abroad I must confess.

Ireland, England, and South Korea were a terrific success.

If you ask me to go back my answer will surely be a yes.

As you travel the world the possibilities are endless.

And when you follow your heart don’t stress.

Wherever you go you’ll be happy nonetheless.

8. I Left my Heart in Ireland

Cut from 3 types of scrapbook paper

The Emerald Isle is a place where I belong I do.

A heart in the middle of Ireland is a necklace, my bijou.

A little reminder of what can happen when you’re brave and true.

To not give up, chase your dreams and always pursue.

I am certain wonderful times and new friends will surely ensue.

And you might start to look at things from a different point of view.

Because you had the courage to go somewhere new.

9. Friends

Drawn with pencil and created a frame with 3 types of scrapbook paper.

During my travels, the people I've met is the best part of all.

Our times together we had an absolute ball.

Many laughs and smiles I do recall.

-

Even though we live far apart.

And it's hard to say goodbye when we part.

These memories are forever in my heart.

-

I thank you for your postcards you've sent to me.

When I read them, I'm filled with tremendous amounts of glee.

Your hometown and travels I get to see.

And until we meet again, how delightful it will be.

Please know how much you all mean to me.

10. October 25th

Drawn with crayon and frame made from scrapbook paper

Once upon a cool October day.

The sky lost its color and had a gloomy color grey.

We drove up the mountain, the long winding highway.

I take a step outside and heard the music of a jay.

The leaves in the trees started to sway.

And I ask myself why today?

-

My friend you were there beside me and whispered if I was ok.

We sat upon the rocks with the skyline on display.

The sky glimmered like a heavenly sunray.

As if it were a beautiful painting or a lovely bouquet.

The city lights that flicker look like golden ships at bay.

And on this night with you I wanted to stay.

-

I will forever remember this, so I close my eyes and pray.

And it was on this peaceful Sunday, the day you went away.

11. To My Family

Heart cut out from a dictionary page.

To my family I most certainly revere.

For your encouragement and support during this year.

Many thanks for your laughs, smiles, and wonderful cheer!

And a special shout out to my mom- I love you, my dear.

I’ll always be your little girl and remember like it was yesteryear.

You were always there, day or night, or for when I shed a tear.

You reassure me and dispel my fear.

Supporting my dreams, wishes, or plans for my career.

12. Arizona Road Trip

Cut a map from a road atlas.

The spring break road trip of Katie and Kate.

Was one of my favorite family vacations to date.

A total of 1,000 miles on highways, back roads, and the interstate.

Because to be a tourist in your own state.

Our history and land I did appreciate.

So, take my advice a visit to Arizona is terrific and great.

But please remember to wear sunscreen and hydrate!

13. My Boots

Drawn with a sharpie and cut balloons from scrapbook paper.

It’s the memories they hold, the stories they can tell.

Took me to new places got me out of my shell.

Took ahold of my fears and made them dispel.

Been with me on a journey until I arrived back at my doorbell.

-

My boots…

Strolled along the beach, listening to the ocean in a seashell.

Took a stroll through gardens with flowers pretty as pastel.

Went to a sweet shop that had a wonderful smell.

Took me to places so picturesque it made my heart swell.

-

They have been with me when I felt homesick and a little unwell.

The times when I’ve had to say goodbye and farewell.

Now they’re on a shelf, for stories I retell.

Although a bit tattered, they are still just as belle.

14. Berlin

Drawn with a fine-point Sharpie and frame made from gold and blue scrapbook paper.

Berlin during Christmas is a spectacular sight.

And Christmas Markets were definitely the highlight.

With streets and shops decorated with twinkling, sparkly lights.

They lit the night sky all dreamy and bright.

The wine and gingerbread were an absolute delight.

And for a chocolate lover like me, I could have stayed there all night!

inspirational
30

About the Creator

Katlyn Campbell

Traveler. Teacher. Poet. Writer. Photographer.

Inspired by the places I've called home 🇺🇸🇮🇪🇰🇷🇬🇧🇮🇹🇫🇷

IG: @katlyn.campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.