Poets logo

Poetry Gives Me the Freedom to Express Myself with Words

Words are the magic of my mind.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Poetry Gives Me the Freedom to Express Myself with Words
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Since this month, I am so much more in fond of writing poems. I discovered so many more – to me – new poetry forms, from Japan to Italy to Nobodies-Land. I am so excited to discover all of them, and put all my creativity, emotions, feelings and thoughts into them and publish them, letting you know about it. Sharing these things makes me happy.

When I write poetry, I feel free. I feel the freedom to be myself, to express the feelings I have at that moment, or recall the moments I had once something had happened. The freedom I need to be the best version of myself, to unblock my system my body lives in, to feel just the freedom to live, instead of survive.

By Vaibhav Raina on Unsplash

Finding the words are sometimes easy, but sometimes is difficult. At the same time, I love finding the right words to express the feelings, emotions, and all the love you feel for what you have experienced. Observing my own, observing you, observing everything that comes in my life, makes me the one I want to be, but also, it makes me having the feelings, getting the emotions as a human being.

Writing poetry gives me the freedom to feel love for everyone and everything I admire and I want to love. These poems make me feel loved, they make me feel being an actual human who feels, whom have emotions and the one that is allowed to have these feelings and emotions.

Expressing myself is something I need to learn. Through poetry, I can express myself. Playing with words to express myself is finding the words that says what I want to say. It also reflects me on the one I am, the one I want to be, and the one I was, and therefore it is necessary for me to express myself through these kinds of writing.

Oh, have you thought about writing poetry to express yourself? How did you do? I did – so far – pretty ok. I found so many new poetries that I feel I have too much more and new energy. Energy I need to have to raise my three daughters, to actually live, and to write and play the violin. Poetry gives me that energy.

It is good to know why you write the poems, and how, and if you can Improve yourself. What events just took place? What have you seen in nature? What just happened when your partner comforted you because your father just died? These are the things you need to think about, in my opinion. But at the same time, you just write these poems as they come, for example, as well as by following the rules as well of the poetry form.

I don’t know – since I tried poetry a few years ago – what triggered me to write poetry, but it feels great, it feels amazing, it feels incredible, it feels the way I feel!!

By Clark Young on Unsplash

Since I found out that I love writing poetry, I already wrote tons of them: haikus, tankas, free verse, dodoitsu, sonnets, crown of sonnets, and name it what kind of poetry forms you know, but I desperately want to try them all out, and look how I can express myself through these poetry forms. What can I make from it to actually express myself?

Poetry forms me in a way that I can’t express myself through actually, sayings between people, like you and me standing in front of each other, me and my sister, while having these conversations, but I don’t want to.

I have been through too much negativity in my life, that I only feel I can express myself through writing, poetry, playing the violin, and composing my own music.

***

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her husband and three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, Music List. Writing is — aside from playing the violin — one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. If you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.