Poets logo

Poems of the Broken

Darkness Inside

By Ash QuillPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Poems of the Broken
Photo by Matt Moloney on Unsplash

Silence fills my heart and soul,

Outside, there’s happiness and jitter,

Inside, I’m black as coal

I burrow ever deeper into this dark hole,

Still, as I shower everyone in glitter

Silence fills my heart and soul.

Still, I dig just like the mole

Everyone wants me to get “better”,

Inside I’m black as coal.

Every comment takes its toll,

As I find, I’m still a debtor,

Silence fills my heart and soul.

Forced to stand, stiff as a pole,

All I do points me as a sinner,

Inside, I’m black as coal.

I rate my dreams on broken goals,

My heart is breaking, my thoughts all bitter,

Silence fills my heart and soul,

Inside, I’m black as coal.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ash Quill is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.