Poets logo

Poems from Home

Home is where the fun is...

By Sapphire RavenclawPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Part of Pendennis Castle, Falmouth, Friday 13th August 2021

The featured image is from one of over 400 sites around England managed by English Heritage.

The following poem was originally a two verse poem called Holiday, written in 2006 published on my poetry blog. The additional verses (and revised title) were written on 2nd September 2021.

All photography is my own.

Joys of Home

Top: Sunrise, Playa de Muro, Mallorca, 2019. Bottom: Sunset, Weston-Super-Mare, c.2018

Why do people go away,

When there's so much here to see?

The lakes and hills and countryside.

It's an amazing place to be.


Everybody goes away

To Spain and Greece and Rome

When they could see some wondrous sites,

If they'd only stay at home.


My home is where my family is

Some near, some far away

But any time I spend with them

Is always a happy day.


My children are all growing

They have their lives to lead

But when I spend some time with them

That's all the home I need.


Home is comfort, warmth, and love

I love my quiet home town

I am content in any place

With beautiful sights and somewhere to wander around.



Home is family, my town, my country

Exploring local and beyond

There is an abundance of beauty and history

Of which I am very fond

One thing that is very much 'home' to me is the weather. In its everchanging state, it is a staple of British conversation. It doesn't matter where you go in Britain, the one thing that remains the same is the unpredictability of our weather.

A wintry day at Hatton Locks, South Warwickshire, 1st December 2020

The following two poems relate to different weather, and were also originally published on my poetry blog.

Winter

Written in the morning of 26th January 2021. It had been snowing on and off for a couple of days prior. I was looking out of my window onto what was left of the snow on the trees that had been almost completely covered.

Another wintry morning, a blanket of white embraces the ground.

A perfect day to stay indoors while the snow abounds.

As I watch the birds from my window, sitting in the trees

The air outside seems peaceful, with barely a rustle of the leaves.

A perfect day to stay indoors while the snow abounds

On this cold and cloudy Tuesday, only the birds make any sound

The air outside seems peaceful, with barely a rustle of the leaves

Some snow still hangs from branches like cold cotton sleeves.

On this cold and cloudy Tuesday, only the birds make any sound

Blue peaks through the turbid sky that mirrors the frosty ground.

Some snow still hangs from branches like cold cotton sleeves

The white stuff falls from roofs as icicles hang from eaves.

Blue peaks through the turbid sky that mirrors the frosty ground

Another wintry morning, a blanket of white embraces the ground.

The white stuff falls from roofs as icicles hang from eaves

As I watch the birds from my window, sitting in the trees.

Snow on a Sycamore Tree, on a walk around my home town in Warwickshire, 24th January 2021

English Spring

Spring/Summer at Hartshill Hayes, North Warwickshire, 1st June 2021

Originally written in March 2006

Spring is here

The Sun is out

At least it was yesterday!

It won't be long

'Til Summer comes

And the kids can go out to play

Rain and Sun

You get it all in Spring

But remember it'll soon be warmer

Maybe but for one day

The Sun will shine bright

And the weather will be calmer

We've been through Winter

Though I think it's still here

What funny weather have we

But this is England

What do you expect?

It's all lovely to see.

Aerial View over Nottingham, 23rd May 2021

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sapphire Ravenclaw

I am, among other things, a freelance writer and mother. I enjoy writing poetry and articles. Currently, much of my spare time is spent working on a book about Paganism (one of many subjects which interests me).

More of me:

WordPress

My Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.