Poets logo

Poem: The Sonnet

“Silent Mourning”

By Daniela AnmenPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: The Sonnet
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

They tell me to be strong for my little sibling,

That I should not cry for the sake of their heart,

But what about mine? I shall quiet my sniffling.

I shall as well stop my crying as I try not to fall apart.

Who said the older sibling cannot publicly grief?

I’m human too, and one who just lost something dear.

Tears are almost prohibited, and I curse in disbelief,

A single tear spills down my cheek, soon there’s a glare.

My sibling had seen it and now I feel like an innocence thief,

As they know not what has transpired around here,

No one wants to tell them who has forever left.

I close my eyes seeking some sort of relief,

But none is found is and it would be insincere

Of me to now lie to them why we mourn that special someone who has forever left.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Daniela Anmen

Brand new adult. You'll read my thoughts through my shabby writing. It’s pretty random.

*My first novel, “Dreams of Dawn” is currently available on Kindle.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.