Poets logo

Poem That I Write

Where, Oh Where, Did you Come From?

By Linda RivenbarkPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Poem That I Write
Photo by Mrika Selimi on Unsplash

Poem that I write ,

Did you come from me?

Or were you in captivity,

Longing to be free.

Did I make you up?

My brain child could you be?

Or were you in the stream of life

And only flowed through me.

I must be very quiet

Or you will not come my way;

But once you fall upon the page ,

I know you’re here to stay.

Sometimes you do amaze me

With your beauty, wit, and power;

And I know I cultivated

But did not create your flower.

By Quino Al on Unsplash

Poem that I write ,

I’m glad to give you birth;

But it’s the source from which you came

That really gives you worth.

Note: I wrote this poem years ago in a blank journal I kept my poetry in. After several moves and relocations, I seem to have lost the original copy, but the words came back to me and I wanted to share it.

I have often felt, when writing a poem, that it was being dictated to me and I was merely the transcriber. Other times, I have "heard" the words to part of a poem but did not write it down. Later, I would see almost the same, exact words published by another writer.

That is where I got the idea of poetry being in the 'stream of life', destined to be written - if not by one poet, then by another. It is always a joy to be the one through whom a poem comes to life!

slam poetry
7

About the Creator

Linda Rivenbark

I believe in the magic of words, love, and tenacity. There is a world out there that needs to be explored, researched, and written out to try to make some sense of it, and to make a better place for the children of tomorrow.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!! For me, it is very relatable. Thoughts and ideas appear from nowhere.

  • test2 years ago

    I don't get it.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    I love this! I have had the same experience with the majority of the poems I have written. I have also made a very similar comments about writing poetry. Very relatable and well done.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful words.

  • This was very interesting. The poem itself was great but the comment after the poem was deep and reflective.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Wow, amazing. The words came back to you. That is really a gift and talent you have. Beautiful poem 🥰🌹

  • I loved this

  • I feel the same way too sometimes

  • Very well expressed. I often feel I am the purveyor of something beyond myself as well, but ultimately, it's just me staring back from the mirror.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.