Poets logo

Poem: Ribbons In The Sky

Part 1 written in 2016, part 2 written in 2020.

By S. AlexPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: Ribbons In The Sky
Photo by Yasin Hoşgör on Unsplash

[Part One.]

I will sit by the sky

To breathe air I've never breathed before

To open doors I've never walked through before

And untie ribbons of thought in my mind

As I patiently wait for the details to arise

and the trains to cease colliding, which they do.

Charisma will whisper secrets she usually keeps from me

And she'll quietly take them back

One by one

Forgetting a rare some

But taking others that didn't belong to her.

Maybe to be returned at a later date, maybe not.

She does this exchange discreetly.

In what ways did I hide?

If I am not hiding in some way, am I an I?

A sum of experiences

Just for a while

Then back to a web of knotted ribbons,

a mind.

[Part Two.]

Back on the ground with feelings fleeting,

Reminiscing on a lost ballet;

Leftover ribbons fall along the trees,

Bathing in the heart's dismay.

Here we are now: lost among the memories.

Knots align,

fold over.

When will it rain the diamond drops of heyday again?

Patience grows in the back yard.

The street is washed over with bittersweetness,

And the ink has dried on the card.

But here we are now: lost among the memories.

Knots aligned,

Folded over.

I will sit by the sky the breathe air I've never breathed before,

With a mess of knotted ribbons unkind.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

S. Alex

In my 20's, nonbinary, and some kind of lost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.