Poets logo

Poem for Miss Ross

At the end of a long day

By Mather SchneiderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem for Miss Ross
Photo by Alireza Dolati on Unsplash

After I get home from driving my taxi

for 12 or 14 or 16 hours

I lay down on my bed

but it all

spins back on me:

every face in the rear view mirror

every street under construction

every near missed accident

every stranger's horror story

every time there were sobs in the back seat

every time I laughed

to make someone feel better

about being an asshole

every time I got to my pick up

and found no one there

every time I took a stupid route

or got stuck in traffic

where the silences are long

every time I looked at Miss Ross

as I drove her to her cancer treatment

white and tiny as an angel

with candy cigarette bones.

END

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mather Schneider

I was a cab driver in Tucson, Arizona for many years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.