Poets logo

Poem 77

from my poetry collection The Lava at the Birth of Time

By Kait ThursdayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Battle of Nagashino; View of the death of Yamagata Saburōhei Masakage, painted in 1868 by Tsukioka Yoshitoshi

A robot heard me singing and asked if I was okay.

Emerald green glass was smooth and soothing to the nerves

but detrimental to the creative process.

Imagine all the times you will suffer failures of imagination.

The loss of advantage felt like coals aflame in my stomach.

And I wore a burnished crown of consternation on my brow.

And I crushed the glass into shards and

swallowed it for something to do.

Do you recall watching the soldiers march by?

We watched from the treetops which

we fell from when the first shots were fired.

But we survived only to pretend we saw nothing.

Never say that you remember me fondly.

Say that you remember blood matting my hair.

Tell me you remember scorch marks fraying my dress.

Remember a sword in my hand; eyes burning with righteous rage.

Archeologists uncovered things no one wanted recollected:

trash on the floor, pots cracked and discarded,

granary lists forgotten as soon as they were written.

And holy men said, “See how sacred, fall to your knees.”

Do you recall the childish pact?

Blood from my hand and blood from your hand

and a vow that our words should not be forgotten.

Therefore, every time you lose a battle, I will be there.

You said I wasted my time collecting remembrances.

I said you wasted your time making time.

And imagination withered as memory grew.

And the soldiers watched us fall and pretended they saw nothing.

sad poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kait Thursday

I'm a poet and a novelist, but my friends call me a starving artist. I've been writing for twenty years and have no plans to stop. I post new content to Vocal every month, but I have ADHD, so remind me if I forget.

WordPress

Amazon

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.