Poets logo

PoAP

Professor of Acrostic Poems

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Taken from Pixabay, Edited in Canva Pro

Pardon me, excuse me, don't mean to ruin or spoil your day

Really just want to say, Hey, I’m the Professor of the acrostic way

Oh, what a dream it would be, to get paid for writing my poetry

Flexing my linguistic skills as an offering to our society

Enter the mind of a strange Scottish man, but please be aware

Survival takes a whole lot more than bravery and bloody good hair

Sit back, relax as I work my way through this acrostic challenge

Or stand and raise your glasses, as from the dictionary I scavenge

Ridiculous rhymes full of emotion, wit, wonder, and whimsy as your champion - The Professor of Acrostic Poetry

*

Obviously, the truth is, I don't really believe any of that

For really, I'm just a fiend for a rhyme like the cat in the hat

*

Acrostic poetry, I have experience with though, let's not forget

Created once an Abecedarian haiku from the English alphabet

Rules were followed and syllable quotas adhered to

Only a fool like me would such a challenge pursue

sticking to strict rules, spouting verbal diarrhoea

The fact is, I relish it, the feverish excitement

In trying to find some acrostic enlightenment

Could it be, I've found my true calling then as the Professor of Acrostic Poetry?

*

Possibly, potentially, probably, yes

Only time will tell, though, if I'm ever really a success

Eagerly until then I will leap from story to poem, hoping one day I can stop

Making money from writing for clients who want their websites on top

So, instead, I can write full of emotion, wit, wonder, and whimsy as the self-proclaimed Professor of Acrostic Poetry

*

This is an acrostic I wrote in response to a fun challenge with another creator, Heather Hubler.

You can find her acrostic here.

Thanks for reading!

surreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This is tempting me to try one now, too!

  • Whoaaa! You definitely are the Professor of Acrostic Poetry!

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Very well done! I really enjoyed this.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    haha. This is great, Paul. Really well done.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Mighty fine work Paul... I loved it and enjoyed it...!!!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    lol...what a hoot, so much talent and great fun

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ahh, I got poetry slammed and in the best way possible by this fantastic acrostic! Bravo!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.