Poets logo

Please, Nanny, Don't Die

A Villanelle

By Sharna HalliwellPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Please, Nanny, Don't Die
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

Each night, I would cry, please, nanny, don't die

You promised you'd stay till I was fifteen

As I grew older, I lived with your lie

I didn't quite know how to say goodbye

The cancer inside you was harsh and mean

Each night, I would cry, please, nanny, don't die

You didn't make it, you took to the sky

And left me in darkness, no more routine

As I grew older, I lived with your lie

I grew through the pain as time went on by

And met with depression at age fourteen

Each night, I would cry, please, nanny, don't die

I couldn't seem to leave my pillow dry

For the tears I shed, I kept them unseen

As I grew older, I lived with your lie

After years without you, I wondered why

You couldn't have stayed till I was a teen

Each night, I would cry, please, nanny, don't die

As I grew older, I lived with your lie

VillanelleMental HealthheartbreakFamilyCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Sharna Halliwell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • K. Kocheryan4 months ago

    Oh, how sad. I'm sorry for your loss if this is a personal poem. Nice job with the villanelle.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.