Poets logo

Please Body

A Poem Comprised of Real Thoughts

By Lou CPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hate you

I hate the way you look

But not as much as the way you behave

You taunt me in the mirror

Tell me I’m ugly

Standing in front of me

Another of your repulsive mockeries

I ignore your yearning for attention

But you demand to be acknowledged

You play along sometimes

You do things I want, we get along well

But when things get hard, when I’m crumbling

You fill my head with dreams of comfort

“Eat something, just one won’t hurt”

One turns into more and you laugh as I cry into my pillow

The resulting guilt of my gluttony makes me retch in my bathroom

You love to make me jealous of other women

Making me wish I had what they have

I won’t stand for this disregard of my effort towards my health

One day I’m going to build some strength so I can win

Please Body, won’t you let me be thin

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lou C

Fresh poetry, thoughts and ideas from a 17 year old mind about the ever-changing world in which we live. Gifts would be really helpful but of course, if you read my work and enjoy it that matters far more.

Lou x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.