Poets logo

Playbill Not Found

Honoring National Poetry Day, I share a piece I hold deep in my personal collection...

By Will SheffieldPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Heavy, the weight!

Restriction, restraint!

I've never had a soul break me with a touch

So, unwavering, naively, I grasp tight, the crutch...

But feeling so much, with every waking breath

Leaves a heart dangling, reaching full breadth

Out to be felt once, just as my

hands do caress

...your...

Soul is boundless, yet a boundary obstructs:

This barrier built by fear and distrust.

My mind quakes at the thought of your hand

placed into mine, sparks fly as they can,

So I abstain, terrified, from a forward advance;

Avoid ending construction to our stunning edifice.

Yet a touch is so far

As your hands seem barred

From feeling the way mine do.

With just a brush of you,

What shimmers is gold, it's true!

So who am I

To tell myself yes,

Looking at a distance,

Disparaged and undressed,

As you keep your beautiful hands to your chest?

Just let me in, oh,

Please let me know...

Did the players disband

before

the beginning of the show?

OH what an prologue,

OH what a blast!

The sand at ground zero, sublimed; hardened glass…

Such a beautiful destruction of norms held in masse!

Yet the sand settles

Clearing the air,

The mind begins to meddle

About possible despair!

Clear though the view may be now!

Cluttered is the mind, drowned in doubt!

Rocked by the Shockwave of beauty incompared,

I was left blind to time leaving your interest impaired!

As mine flew higher than the thunderous plume,

Desire of yours, once strong, met its doom!

So who am I

To tell myself yes,

Looking at a distance,

Disparaged and undressed,

As you keep your beautiful hands to your chest?

Just let me in, oh,

Please let me know...

Did the players disband

before

the beginning of the show?

The last time we met,

a day with no regret,

Clarity, true, stole the stage.

No words were spoken

As my heart, forever broken

Was ready, once again, for the test

Of willingly turning the page…

Closing the case, parallels left the rest,

As you flew again away

And I settled in my cage!

So who was I

To hint myself yes,

Looking at a distance,

Optimistic and impressed,

As you give your beautiful soul to those blessed?

I should have been, oh,

Should have known...

Whole self has no time to amend

before

the beginning of the show.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Will Sheffield

Poet, pianist, performer, political enthusiast; always searching for the right profession to support my passions. Work hard, play harder; but don't forget to take notes about it along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.