Poets logo

Play

Enjoy the Music

By Bex JordanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Smooth, Curved Wood

I run my hand

Against smooth, curved

Wood,

Nylon strings

Greet me as

A friend,

I bend my fingers,

Press against

My neck

Strum with

Nails grown long

Just for this

Purpose.

E has always

Felt like home to me;

I hum

Gentle, unsure at first,

Close my eyes

See notes dance,

Colors fading in and out

Blue, red, violet

Against the black

Sloping up, down,

Discover what is missing

In those chords,

Fill in the gaps.

Stronger, I sing

Words form

Unbidden,

Find hidden meaning

In the song

And I know

I'm not the greatest

(Or the worst)

But in this moment

I am held in this embrace,

I can taste

The music

Emanating,

And it

Carries me

Away,

Setting me free.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Really loved that, intimate moment with the instrument.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.