Poets logo

Plastered Faces And Beautiful Masks

|smoldering lungs|

By Angelica de JesusPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Plastered Faces and Beautiful Masks

Ripped away from the place she loved.

Though it had brought much sorrow.

Her heart belonged there.

For that, it had become her second home.

The people of her year were so cruel and their words were unforgiving.

But she found light in where people's malice had only shone.

False words and masks were only inviting, for they were much like her.

Plaster on a new face every morning.

See me in the mirror, watch me from a different angle and see.

That is not the true me.

Be careful, do not get enchanted by my act, it’ll be shattered soon.

Trust me now see me with my heart on my sleeve drop all pleasantries, for now, you see the real me.

-A.D.

12/21/2018

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angelica de Jesus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.