Poets logo

Planted

Reaching the Sky

By Arthur ArmstrongPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Planted
Photo by Ales Maze on Unsplash

No longer will I be watered down.

It’s time for full intoxication.

No longer will I cry and drown

For your unhealed hydration.

I understand you have a hurt

But I cannot help to heal it.

For when I tried, I nearly died

From the poisoned blade you wielded.

You dug it deep into my heart,

An act of cruelty surely.

For when you stuck it in, you smiled

But you did so prematurely.

For the poison that you used on me

Was one I was exposed to

So much so that you’d never know

I’d grown an immunity to you.

It was not the poison on the blade

that tore our love apart.

It was the smiling in your eyes

That broke my tender heart.

I loved you more than life itself

And gladly did your will.

And then you turned your blade on me,

When your love for me grew still.

I called for you as I lay crying,

Alone and in the gutter.

My memory of our love lay dying

With every chilling shudder.

But from the rain, a rainbow came

And showed me to the sun.

For when life cast me to the ground

That’s when my growth’d begun.

I grew without your callousness

And snarky criticism.

My soul caught fire, filled with desire

Despite your dark Sadism.

Now that you’re gone, I sing a song

And fill my heart with light.

I’ll reach for the skies while your ego dies

In the darkness of the night.

surreal poetryinspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Arthur Armstrong

A being of duality, poetic irreverence, and maddening nonsense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.