Poets logo

Pizza

Down The Shore

By Elizabeth ArnoldPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4

Down the shore

The smell of the salty air

The sound of the ocean

The seagulls.

Tradition.

No comparison.

First bite

Reminds me

Of wind chimes

From the kitchen

Singing on the breeze.

Home-cooked meals.

Of freshly caught seafood.

Vegetables grown in the garden.

Card games into the night.

Baseball games.

Waiting in line

For outside showers.

Toad hunting.

Sandy feet.

Hanging laundry

On clothes lines

To dry.

Feeding the seagulls

Table scraps.

Ham and cheese sandwiches

With butter and spicy mustard,

Cold from the cooler.

I close my eyes

And savor the bite

The eagerness to taste

Home

Leaves me with a burn

Blistered and sore

On the roof of my mouth.

I run my tongue over the

Hanging bits of skin.

I forego the pain

Because of where

I found myself

After the first bite.

social commentaryFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Elizabeth Arnold

I’m a storyteller. I write for the love of writing. I feel a wave of excitement whenever I buy a new notebook and a pack of bic crystal pens because I know those blank pages hold wonderous possibilities. It’s about time I share them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.