Poets logo

Pitfall

A Poem

By Michael avantPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Till the end; I've become an old friend of new

Beginnings,

I've gambled, now I've seem to have lost sight of seeing me

Winning.

Wishful thoughts are glass cased, standing still is so fast

Paced,

Past mistakes were last placed amongst the trials I last

Faced.

The completion of my plans A, B and C, I was the last to

See,

Watered down when I washed up but I never was the last to

Sea.

Ageless beauty has marked the skin of my groups'

Mole,

The piercing truth found its way to my sympathetic lobes through

A loop hole.

Tangible animal instincts handle my humanity's

Care,

My pride has yet to pay admission for your Vanity's

Fair.

Shine bright enough to spotlight the darkness that I

Taunt,

Toiling away to uphold the confidence I solely

Flaunt.

Performing in front of this ghost town, I anticipated the

Boos,

Jeers? Or cheers? I've challenged this world to never

Choose.

Could the stars possibly be an awkward reach?

If apples and oranges are in league of their own I'll be the

Rockford Peach.

A paradoxical glove contradicting the logic I learned from my

22nd catch,

Predicted that my chickens were somehow numbered before

Their time to hatch.

Could my aura be infectious? Therefore I'm in charge of it

Spreading,

So how do I make my rounds at this "Shotgun Wedding?"

It's ok to break, just decide before they see me

Hesitate,

I'm no heavyweight, yet self carried well enough that some

Question whether I levitate.

Risking the gamble once more, by calling it all

"Bluff",

Speculating bets on how smoothly this diamond can make

It out of the rough.

The battle from within is the one you must

Win,

Believing that less armor and more heart is what I need to

Trust in.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michael avant

Hello fellow creators. In short I'm nothing more than a very big fan of this art form we all love called Poetry. Playing with words and thoughts, bending and twisting ideas is all part of this therapeutic yet challenging past time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.