Poets logo

Pink or Blue

Finding Where I Fit

By Drayk StahlPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

For years, I was pink, at least that's what they said

Though it never really seemed right, spinning in my head

Dolls and frills and daffodils, not really my thing

I more enjoyed the boyish things, and the smiles they would bring

They put my hair in curls and they dressed me up in lace

I always wanted overalls, they helped me feel in place

Being raised as pink, but always feeling blue

I never was an outcast, for no one really knew

It took me years to figure out exactly how I felt

I thought I could never be myself, until I looked for help

There were more like me, somewhere in between

Never feeling right, feeling lost, unseen

I finally felt at home, I finally felt okay

I knew that someday soon, I wouldn't be afraid

Years gone by, living life with medicine and needles,

Surgeries and therapy, no longer feeling feeble

It all makes sense, it all came true

I'm no longer someone pink, forever feeling blue

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Drayk Stahl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.