Poets logo

"PIECES OF ME UNBROKEN"

"SPACE & TIME IN SEASONS OF REASON & RHYME"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 3 months ago 2 min read
7
Walter Trout feat. Beth Hart - Broken (Official Lyric Video)

PIECES OF ME UNBROKEN

At 74 years old, an old soul of the universe

From many lifetimes of global DNA

Of many decades of what it’s worth

Of time and space of yesterday and today.

I am still 'young at heart',

As I play the part

Of life, love, and blues,

Of yesteryear win or loose

I do not want to have a dark broken soul.

But want a soul of light,

Of colors of the night

And over the rainbow

After the storm, I still carry on,

As I was at death’s door in 2022

But survived long Covid and major surgery.

I felt broken inside,

As though my pain would not subside.

But I moved forward with life,

As I still strive

To maintain my peace and love.

Born of hippy days that were shoved,

In the politics of life

Beyond my control

So, I let it go.

Now I want to be put back together,

As I write this letter

Of rhyme and reason to heal

As a child in rebirth that is real.

Not remembering my dreams in surgery

I woke in pain and cried to myself.

I will be broken for life without perjury

from words of the unspoken words or visits

From friends and family that were not insight,

As I lay in bed to heal through the dark of the night.

My faith carries me through daily as fictitious,

Friends fade away into the clouds,

Of the proud,

Ones who love that I was broken,

Hoping I would rot away into the unspoken.

As they cast their stones of hate to change me

Into a corpse of lifeless prose

And what I have to say to those

People in the shadows just go away,

Because you were never here to stay

So, the friends that were there,

Show how much they cared.

I am partly broken.

So, I carry through life as words that are spoken,

With faith as the grain of a mustard seed

A parable that was read to me,

In my younger days.

My late Grandma Carrie Soleta,

“Carry on my dear sweet child.” I can hear her words today,

As the ocean waves curl this way

I am not all broken.

I can write.

I can laugh.

I can cry.

I can sigh.

All words spoken.

I am not broken.

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

MARCH 1, 2024

‘AN OLD SOUL OF THE UNIVERSE’

TIME KEEPS MOVING FORWARD.

TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE

AS WE ALL CARRY ON.

THE MOON, THE SUN, THE STARS, THE MILKY WAY

AND OUR EARTH OF LIFE AND ENERGY REMAIN

AS WE LIVE OUR LIVES

STRIVING

AS HUMAN BEINGS IN SPACE AND TIME

THIS REASON AND RHYME.

surreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsMental HealthinspirationalGratitudeFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Very much not broken. Very empowering.

  • Beautiful!!! So inspiring. I love it, my friend!!!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is so moving and beautifully done, Vicki! 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.