Poets logo

PIECES OF ME

FAMILY

By Sonja EdwardsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
PIECES OF ME
Photo by Imani Manyara on Unsplash

My mother gave me her bewildering curiosity, her mother gave me direction of right and wrong;

A character of love, forgiveness and the gift of God's Word to be strong;

I pray everyday for the knowledge to share what I have learned;

With my children and grandchildren, that respect is not given but earned;

A little piece of my legacy is what I hope to leave for those that I love;

Not just monetary gain, but wisdom, laughter, tenacity, and the peace of heaven above;

Intricately woven into little pieces of me;

Are roots from my ancestors with bits of them completely;

Running and playing when I was a child;

Lead my imagination untamed and a bit wild;

As my life progressed I reflected on the memories of what I was taught;

That wisdom is learned and not bought;

Entrepreneurs, nurses, teachers, business women, and various fields of my family;

Shaped the decisions in my life, challenging my dreams of what I should become was not always easy;

There is something that I have learned from each strength: that is my legacy;

I will pass down my love, the will to survive which is a little piece of me.

https://youtu.be/LrJqG7yJ2yE

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sonja Edwards

I am 56 years old. l love God poetry, stories, creating, designing, art, and I have an online store called God's Flourishings No.1.

gods-flourishings-no-1.myshopify.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.