Poets logo

Pieces

A poem inspired by a famous painting. 🎨

By Gina C.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
6
"Galatea of the Spheres" by Salvador Dalí

I don't want to rise today.

I just want to

close my eyes and dream my life away.

I'm exhausted, I

am stuck on melatonin...

I think that I

had no idea where

[[the hell]]

that I

was goin', but...

(stuck between the covers)

I thought that I was safe from all

[[life's thunder]];

I think that I

{{was happy}} for

a moment -

scattered out in pieces I

believed that I

had found my serotonin.

*

Pull me back into

my essence;

as the moonlight fades its luminescence, I

am summoned by {{fluorescence}}

of the

[[artificial lighting]]...

I'm not here and

I'm not there, but I am

somehow

coming back together;

all my pieces magnetized,

romanticized,

coming back together and

uniting.

*

I feel that I

always want to be creating.

Surrealistically I

dream at night that I

am whole...

but when the sunlight comes

(I somehow)

freewheel into me and crumble...

or can it be I tumble out of me

(and lose)

my shattered soul?

*

I exist, somehow,

(I think)

in pieces;

always searching...

I am molecules of separate worlds (that)

squeeze through tiny holes...

and I don’t know why

(I keep)

spinning in these pin-dot circles,

{hoping that}

you'll stumble (on my)

lucid thoughts

and resist the urge to scroll.

*

In my {wholest} form, I think

that I

am broken.

In the morning, I'm

awoken from the many places where

I stray;

pulled together by

{{the sun rays}}...

drifting back through earthly airways;

only through my poetry can my

{{unspoken many pieces be}}

realistically

conveyed.

Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

This poem was inspired by Salvador Dalí's painting, "Galatea of the Spheres".

Welcome to my Famous Painting poetry series. :) If you enjoyed this piece, you might also like this one, which is part of the same series:

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this short haiku, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • U.Rdiya2 years ago

    It's beautifully written. It felt like reading my thoughts! love it!!!

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Dali is my favorite, and this poem is as surreal as the paint on the canvas. It captures the essence so well! Great work!

  • Nicely done. Good work!!! 🙂

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely, definitely lovely❤️😊💖

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Oh my gosh - I love the words and feel of this - it's beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is wonderful. You really have a way with words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.